Anything but Books Tag

Hello!

I was kindly tagged by James from This is My Truth Now to participate in this get-to-know-the-blogger post!  James has such great personality and reads a LOT, his reviews are really insightful and helpful, I particularly enjoy his posts on classics. This is a really fun tag, and the ones I have read so far are so interesting, I hope mine isn’t too boring! You can see James’ answers to the tag here, his dark chocolate tort with raspberries picture will make you drool.

One: Name a cartoon that you love

I love the Wacky Races! I have to give credit to my mom for this one, without her I would probably never heard of it.

Two: What is your favorite song right now

That has to be Shawn Hook’s Reminding Me ft. Vanessa Hudgens. Such a cute song!

Three: What could you do for hours that isn’t reading?

Hum, blogging? I love writing reviews, reading other people’s posts, interacting and such. I also love walking/hiking, and love taking very long walks, especially if I can chat with someone along the way.

Four: What is something that you love to do that your followers would be surprised by?

I love makeup. I love artistic things in general, and in makeup I can find another way to express myself artistically – it’s similar to painting and drawing, except on your face. I love going artistic with it, which is probably why Halloween is one of my favorite holidays. I love an excuse to put my fake blood to good use.

Five: What is your favorite unnecessarily specific thing to learn about?

Intersectional feminism. I am not sure this counts as “unnecessarily” specific, but well. I am a sucker for books that will teach me things, and intersectionality is a big issue that isn’t discussed enough in feminism. As an Arab-descendant, German-descendant Latina with history of depression and anxiety working in a male-dominant industry, I have only recently come to realize what role this heritage and my culture play into my view of the world and the world’s view of me. Giving names to phenomena you experience in real life is such an amazing experience and makes you feel less alone. So anything that can teach me more about people with different lives from mine, I’m in.

Six: What is something that you know how to do?

I can play the piano, painfully so.

Seven: Name something you made in the last year and show us if you can.

I have started bullet-journaling the past year, and it’s changed my life. I am far more organized now and I enjoy writing my thoughts, doodling, knowing all the events I need to keep in mind and getting my to-do list organized. I haven’t forgotten birthdays anymore!

Eight: What is your most recent personal project?

This blog!

Nine: Tell us something that you think about often?

Politics. For quite obvious reasons, I suppose.

Ten: Give us something that is your favorite.

My favorite color has been blue since I was a child.

Eleven: Say the first thing that pops up in your head.

Do I really need a job to pay my bills? How much is a kidney worth? (just kidding)

 

I tag… anyone who wants to participate 🙂

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Anything but Books Tag

  1. I completely forgot about The Wacky Races up until this point… Wow…

    I started a bullet journal too, but somehow it’s just been laying there. I probably should be embarrassed right now, but the funny thing is that I’m more organized after keeping it up for 6 weeks. Like my brains realized that they have to keep up themselves. [I seriously can’t figure out how to explain myself here.]

    Like

  2. Wow, I really enjoyed learning more about you, Naty! It’s interesting that you see make up as art! It’d be so much fun if we did Halloween makeup together! (I’m obviously crappy though lol)

    Liked by 1 person

    • That would be so much fun!! I’m pretty sure you’d do a good job, normally artistic makeup looks more difficult to make than it is. I did painting classes a while ago, and when I moved I couldn’t take my painting stuff with me… so put my creative side to makeup, which is easier to bring along.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Wacky Races! My brother and I used to watch them together every Saturday morning. Wow, that makes me feel so nostalgic!

    I’m really interested in the idea of bullet journals, but I completely lack any artistic ability, so much so that my handwriting looks like a 15 year old boy’s. So I don’t. But I did get one of those Happy Planners, and I’m loving that! It really helps me focus on my goals and stay organized.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wacky Races is the best! 😀 and I am a sucker for planners… bullet journalling is great for doodling, but I normally keep it simple + clean, the ones I’ve seen online are waaaay more elaborate… I don’t have patience or washi tape for that.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I think you are the version of me that I imagine when I daydream about being a perfect “got her shit together ” lady . I always dream of being organized and having the ability to play the piano and be good at doing makeup . I really enjoyed knowing you more , and James always makes amazing tags !

    Like

Leave a Reply

