The Cookie Book Tag

Thank you so much to Noriko from Diary of a Bookfiend for tagging me! For those who don’t know, Noriko is an awesome blogger and my lost twin sister who writes amazing reviews with such thoughtfulness that I promise you’ll be addicted to her blog in a split second – go check her out! 

Rules :

  • In addition to linking back to the person who tagged you, it would be awesome if you link back to Nicole’s original post!
  • Pick a book that corresponds to the cookie’s ‘theme’.
  • Have fun!
  • Tag one to three people.

Questions:

Chocolate Chip: A Classic book that you love ?

21032147

The magical epic One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez made me fall in love so quickly and deeply that I am considering buying this book also in a Portuguese version, since I cannot read Spanish, to experience his writing as close to the original as possible. I don’t normally own many versions of the same book, but this one enchanted me so much.

Thin Mints: A Hyped-Up Book You Want To Read ?

30555488

This book got really hyped up after Oprah picked it for her book club, and so many people say it’s fantastic! It tells the story of Cora and Ceasar as they attempt to escape life as slaves in Georgia. It sounds like a heartbreaking read.

Shortbread: An Author You Can’t Get Enough Of ?

576650

As long as Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie publishes novels, I will buy them and gift them to people and rave about them.

Samoas: An Emotional Rollercoaster of A Book 

The Hate U Give

The most moving novel published this year is certainly The Hate U Give, by Angie Thomas. It tells the story of Starr, who witnesses the murder of her friend and must find the courage to decide if to pursue justice for him or to keep her family and friends safe.

Oreos: A Book Whose Cover Was Better Than Its Inside

Resenha: Miniaturista por Jessie Burton

The Miniaturist, by Jessie Burton. I couldn’t relate to any of the characters, the decisions they made didn’t make sense to me, the ending wasn’t satisfactory at all. Still, the cover is absolutely stunning. Many people do love this book a lot, though, so I suspect it was just not a book for me.

Tagalongs: A Book That Wasn’t What I Expected

28245487

The Buried Giant is categorized as Fantasy, and it tells the story of a couple who goes on a journey to find their son. It was my first book from Kazuo Ishiguro (who also wrote Never Let Me Go), so maybe that is why I was caught off guard. But this book reads like a dream – I have no better way to explain. I couldn’t decide if I liked the book or not for a long time, but after finishing I decided that for its idea of being told in a dream-like manner, it was pretty good! It isn’t his most popular work, though, I think it threw many readers off because of the style. Has anyone read Never let me go?

Snickerdoodles: A Book I May Never Stop Rereading/ Loving

15881

I am not a big re-reader, so… I can only think of childhood favorites which I’ve re-read many times. The Chamber of Secrets is probably one of my most re-read ones!

I tag…

Melanie from MNBernard Books

Angela from Egg Reader

Patty from Moonshine’s Corner

 

14 thoughts on “The Cookie Book Tag

    • Thank you for tagging me! THUG is awesome and I think everyone should read it! Btw I don’t know if you saw, but Ken Follet’s A Column of Fire is on Netgalley, if you’d like to apply. I just saw it and thought of you!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thanks for letting me know about A Column of Fire, Naty! But it says members in the U.S. are preferred and out of the country readers might not have their request approved by the publisher… actually I once got rejected for living outside the UK, I know I cannot help it, but it’s kinda traumatic experience lol

        Liked by 1 person

        • Yeah I saw it! I got rejected a few times already and I suspect it’s because I’m not in the UK or US, but sometimes I get approved for those! It doesn’t show in your stats… but if you prefer avoiding the trauma, I perfectly understand it.

          Liked by 1 person

          • I hope it works out! And I hope you don’t feel pressured to, I understand that getting the rejection doesn’t feel good at all. But it’s quite a pity that so many books are UK/US exclusive.

            Liked by 1 person

          • I know… in order to publicize a book all over the world, I think ARC should be approved by readers out of UK/US, too!

            Like

  1. I have read never let me go and really liked it, so I definitely plan on checking out buried giant. What I love about ishiguro already from the two books I’ve read by him is how different they are, so I’m really up for reading something different from him again 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

