If you liked this book, try this F/F book!

Hello readers!

I really enjoy posts of “if you liked…, then read…”, so I thought it would be a nice idea to spread some F/F love and recommend some books based on other books you guys may have liked. Some correlations are more obvious than others, and I normally try to match books by the feelings they gave me as well as the plot, where possible, but you’ll see me matching fantasy with scifi, contemporary and fantasy… to me, if they had the same energy, they’re a match.

Blog Divider

If you liked Sadie, by Courtney Summers

sadie courtney summers missing presumed dead emma berquist

…try Missing, Presumed Dead, by Emma Berquist!

This is a bit of a stretch, but hear me out. They are both YAs with girls who are after revenge, and are full of anger. While Sadie is a contemporary thriller that goes dark in a painfully realistic way, Missing, Presumed Dead has ghosts and some romance thrown in. It’s dark and gritty, but not in the same way as Sadie, and it’s not as heart-breaking, in my opinion. But if what you liked about Sadie was the main character being driven by rage for the murder of an innocent girl, I think you will enjoy this F/F pick!

If you enjoyed Turtles All the Way Down, by John Green…

Turtles all the way down john greenlast true poets of the sea julia drake

… try The Last True Poets of the Sea, by Julia Drake!

Turtles All the Way Down and The Last True Poets of the Sea are both contemporary YAs with a subplot of mystery and family history mixed into stories about mental illnesses, and some romance thrown in! Where Turtles has wonderful OCD representation, Last True Poets talks candidly about depression, anxiety, attempted suicide and grief. I think fans of Turtles will really like this F/F!

If you liked Lord of the Rings, by J. R. R. Tolkien…

the lord of the rigs j r r tolkien priory of the orange tree samantha shannon

…try Priory of the Orange Tree, by Samantha Shannon

If you like your fantasy chunky, epic, with lovable characters, lots of adventure, and some dragons thrown in, then you surely enjoyed The Lord of the Rings and will enjoy The Priory of the Orange Tree! Priory is the kind of book I would have loved to have around after I finished LOTR as a teen.

If you liked Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty

six wakes mur laufferty The Psychology of Time Travel Kate Mascarenhas

…try The Psychology of Time Travel, by Kate Mascarenhas

I think both of these books are criminally underrated. The first is a murder mystery on space where the crew of clones in a ship wake up to find their previous selves (also clones) murdered, and the second is a murder mystery where one of the four creators of time travel ends up dead and any of the future versions of anyone they know could have done it, including the victim herself. Both books have the victims and murderer showing up in different version of themselves (clones & past/future) with varying amount of knowledge of what happened.

If you liked The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers…

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet becky chambers provenance ann leckie

…try Provenance, by Ann Leckie!

Cozy space mystery seems to be a trending genre, starting with the very popular Becky Chambers’ series. So if you liked the series and want something with a fun vibe and space heist, Provenance is a really good book. There is a trilogy that precedes it, and you can definitely pick that up to have a smoother introduction into the world, but I read only Provenance as a standalone and it totally works!

If you liked Night Circus, by Erin Morgenstern…

Night Circus Erin Morgenstern this is how you lose the time war amal el-mohtar max gladstone

…try This is How You Lose the Time War, by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone

This might be a bit of a stretch, but I really think fans of Night Circus might enjoy this F/F scifi! Both have beautiful writing with gorgeous imagery, and where Night Circus brings to life and the magic of the circus, the smells and taste of the food, the loneliness of the two opponents who end up falling in love, This is How You Lose the Time War has two agents in opposite sides of a war falling in love through letters left in unique, magical ways to each other: inside a seed, in the feathers of a goose, in a letter to be burned before it’s read. There is also beautiful imagery, and the writing is so lyrical. So although it’s a mix of space opera, myth and history, it reminded me a lot of Night Circus in the way it made me feel.

 

6 thoughts on “If you liked this book, try this F/F book!

  1. Pingback: Blog Post Ideas for Book Bloggers | Naty's Bookshelf

  2. Pingback: Favorite Posts // January 2020 – Silvia Reads Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s