If you liked this book, try this F/F book! #2

Hello readers!

I really enjoy writing this kind of post, as it makes me think about the stuff I’ve read and can at times be a bit challenging to find comparable books when I want to recommend something in particular. It’s incredibly exciting that these past years there have been some really great F/F books coming out and getting more hype than in the past. Still we have a long way to go, and I think a great way to get people to read books they wouldn’t have thought of picking up before is finding readalikes!

I have another post like this: If you liked this book, try this F/F book!

Blog Divider

If you liked Normal People, try Exciting Times

normal people sally rooney exciting times noise dolan

Normal People is a very hyped book right now, for good reason. The love story of Marianne and Connell, their uncertainty, self-destruction and magnetic pull towards each other make for such a compelling read – and I think Naoise Dolan’s Exciting Times has a similar feel. Ava, living in Hong Kong and teaching English, is in a relationship with Julian, who does not love her but likes her company. When she meets Edith, a beautiful and powerful lawyer, they start falling in love, but Ava fails to tell her about her relationship with Julian. Choosing between her new and unknown relationship with Edith and the familiarity but lovelessness of Julian is scary and difficult, and Ava doesn’t know how to make that decision. It’s a quiet and interesting book, and the writing style resembles Sally Rooney’s quite a lot!

Normal People by Sally Rooney Goodreads / Review

Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan Goodreads / Review

If you liked The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, try Snare

2429135 snare lilja sigurdardottir

I confess I have only watched the movie and not read The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but it left a strong impression on me, and so did Snare. Both books are about the dangerous world of corruption and violence, with complex women trying to find out the truth. In Snare, Sonia is smuggling drugs into Iceland after her divorce left her unable to provide for her son – she can’t lose custody of him. She is desperate enough to do anything, and she’s so close to paying her debts and saving some money and having a normal life. This is an intense, sometimes shocking book that had me on the edge of my seat – and it’s also a trilogy!

The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson Goodreads

Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir Goodreads / Review

If you liked Actress, try The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo

actress anne enright the seven husbands of evelyn hugo taylor jenkins reid

I suppose a lot of people have already read The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by now, but Actress is a newer book that is getting some buzz, so I thought it was a good idea to remind people that Evelyn Hugo exists and is a wonderful read. Both books are about a glamorous movie star, in Actress it’s her daughter telling the story of how her mother shot a man and was institutionalized. In Evelyn Hugo, a journalist gets once-in-a-lifetime chance of writing the biography of a famously private movie star who married seven men. Which was her true love? This is a fascinating story, full of glamour, drama and heartbreak. So, so good!

Actress by Anne Enright Goodreads / Review

The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid Goodreads / Review

If you liked Six Wakes, try The Psychology of Time Travel

six wakes mur laufferty The Psychology of Time Travel Kate Mascarenhas

I think Six Wakes is seriously underrated, it’s an amazing sci-fi thriller about a crew of clones who wakes up one day to find out their copies have been murdered, all of them dead. Their memories have been uploaded to the new, clones bodies, but none of them know what happened or who murdered them. You get flashbacks of past lives, where each of them lived for decades and decades with their bodies being cloned every time they died, and I think The Psychology of Time Travel is a great follow-up read. Four women invented a time travel machine, changing the future forever. Several decades later, one of them is dead, in an impossible murder. Perhaps one of them did it – perhaps it was someone else they met in their time travels. This is a fantastic book and one of my favorite sci-fis ever!

Six Wakes by Mur Lafferty GoodreadsReview

The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas Goodreads / Review

If you liked The Chain, try The Kill Club

the chain adrian mckinty the kill club wendy heard

The Chain is a very hyped thriller about a woman whose kid gets kidnapped and, to get him back, she must kidnap someone’s child, and is now forever connected to the The Chain. In The Kill Club, Jazz has been trying to keep her little brother safe all her life form their foster mother, no matter the cost. When a mysterious organization forces her to choose between killing a stranger in exchange for the death of their foster mother, and not doing it and putting them both in danger.

The Chain by Adrian McKinty Goodreads / Review

The Kill Club by Wendy Heard Goodreads

 

3 thoughts on “If you liked this book, try this F/F book! #2

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s