If You Liked this Book, Read this Other Book for Women in Translation Month

Hello readers!

Last year I couldn’t post recommendations because I realized far too late how close WITmonth was, but this year I have prepared myself! I love translated fiction and often wish I read more of it, except I never know where to start – which is why I think writing posts like this one are very helpful for other readers like me, who are looking for more WIT books to read but don’t really know where to look, or if they would enjoy the book.

There are no Latin-American women books on my list below because I JUST published a post like this exclusively for match-ups for Latin American WIT books, you can read it here: If You Liked this Book, Read this Latin American Book for Women in Translation Month

If you liked The Book of M, read The Memory Police

Both The Book of M by Peng Shepherd and The Memory Police by Woko Ogawa are dystopias set in worlds where memories fade. In The Book of M you have a thriller where people lose their shadows due to a mysterious illness and start losing memories until they lose their identities and forget how to keep themselves alive. The Memory Police is more a literary dytopia, so don’t expect a thriller-like pacing, it’s slower and quite beautiful to read, in which things are “disappeared” and people forget about them – lace, perfume, birds… anything. But not everyone forgets, and the Memory Police take those people away. I think it’s interesting to see similar concepts being explored in different book styles!

If you liked The Girl in the Dragon Tattoo, read Snare

Okay so I’ve recommended this match in If you liked this book, try this F/F book! #2, and I stand by it! Snare by Lilja Sigurdardottir is a wonderful noir thriller trilogy about a woman who is working as a mule from Iceland to the UK in order to be financially stable enough to take partial custody of her son. It has some of that edgy, dark and high stakes feel of The Girl in the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson.

If you liked Death in Her Hands, read Drive Your Plow over the Bones of the Dead

Okay, let me make a small correction; instead of “if you liked this, read that”, I would say: if you wish Death in her Hands by Odessa Moshfegh had made more sense and was an actual mystery, read Drive Your Plow over the Bones of the Dead by Olga Tokarczuk. I loved the atmosphere of mystery, where the reader does not know if the main character is telling the truth or is even entirely sane which Death in Her Hands had, but I found the book otherwise disappointing, whereas I also loved these aspects in Drive You Plow, but thought they were brilliantly executed. Curiously, both have older women as main characters.

3 thoughts on “If You Liked this Book, Read this Other Book for Women in Translation Month

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s