Weekly Wrap-Up 19 – 25 May 2020: My TBR Decreases Ever So Slightly

Hello readers!

Last week I posted about some books I wanted to get through in the past week and… I’ve read 1/5. I am such a mood reader, it’s quite awful in terms of following through with reading plans. My husband always plans his next books for the next month perfectly, and best I can do is say “Well I need to finish this in 3 weeks so maybe I’ll pick it up one day in the next two years??? Who knows”.

ALSO I realized I accidentally subscribed for a month on Scribd (I got a month or two free and then forgot to cancel), so I decided to use my already-paid-for month and pick up a couple audiobooks. The timing is actually quite good, as I’ve recently cancelled my Audible subscription. I think after this, though, I won’t listen to books a whole lot anymore.

Despite getting new books and adding a few to my TBR, it actually got a bit shorter. I ended up finishing 3 books and starting another 2, plus I deleted some books from my wishlist and now I have hopes it will once again be below 200 soon!

I got a few books:

the hunting party lucy foley Hazards of Time Travel Joyce Carol Oates the glass hotel emily st john mandel

From Netgalley I received:

each of us a desert mark oshiro

From Scribd I downloaded:

call down the hawk maggie stiefvater

Blog Divider

Weekly Wrap Up

the bass rock evie wyld you are not alone greer hendricks sarah pekkanen the hunting party lucy foley

The Bass Rock by Evie Wyld / Review 4 stars

This was intense and really good! It took me a few pages to get into the story, but when I did, I could barely put this down. It’s very well written, witty at times and mostly, so full of rage for women suffering generation after generation from toxic masculinity and its violence.

You Are Not Alone by Greer Hendricks, Sarah Pekkanen / Goodreads 4 stars

This was, and sorry that I sound like a cover blurb, very readable. It’s not the most engaging story or the most engaging characters, but the authors keep us on our toes all through the book, and I thought it was so interesting to see both POVs of the protagonist and the antagonists and know what they know… so cool!

The Hunting Party by Lucy Foley / Goodreads 5 stars

So BRILLIANT. I had plans to start another thriller after this but NO BOOK can compare to it ever, so well, I picked up something entirely different so it will have a chance. This is just so good I considered lowering You Are Not Alone to 3 stars – but that’s not fair, I think. How I’ll write a review on it is beyond me – I’m a blabbing, raving mess at it is.

call down the hawk maggie stiefvater frankissstein jeanette winterson

Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater / Goodreads Ongoing

I’ve started this as an audiobook and it’s always odd to me to have a man narrating, because normally I listen to women-narrators-thrillers, but I’m getting used to it. Excited to see where the story will go!

Frankissstein by Jeanette Winterson / Goodreads Ongoing

This is one of the books I’ve been most excited for and I finally started it! So far I’m really loving the writing and the story!

Blog Divider

What did you read this week?

8 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap-Up 19 – 25 May 2020: My TBR Decreases Ever So Slightly

  1. I’m currently listening to The Hunting Party on audiobook! I’m glad you enjoyed it so much 😀 I’ve just finished and reviewed Frankissstein (unfortunately, I couldn’t enjoy it due to the characterisation of Ry and the transphobia). We seem to like similar books – do you have Goodreads so I can follow your shelves?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do! I’m on my phone and will send you the link to my GR as soon as I’m on my laptop. Are you enjoying The Hunting Party? I’m having a mixed experience with Frankissstein – I love it so much and it reads so nicely, and I’m really partial to a good sci-fi-esque story… but as you pointed out, Ry’s characterization leaves me a bit bothered. I’m in no authority to say whether it’s good or not, but it seems to me like it’s not a great characterization… which is so upsetting ,because otherwise I’m loving this book!

      Like

Leave a comment