Weekly Wrap Up 20 – 26 July

Hello readers!

I didn’t end up reading a whole lot this week, but I did read rather broadly, one eARC, one Sci-fi, one historical fiction and a fantasy that I ended up DNF-ing. I have been staying a bit away from social medial lately (this means also that I haven’t blog hopped in a WHILE), which means I haven’t added any new books to my TBR these past weeks and so my TBR continues to shrink: it’s at 116 books now! Quite cool, considering my goal for the year is for my TBR to go down to 100 books!

Weekly Wrap Up

Assassin’s Quest by Robin Hobb – DNF

I was initially glad to get to the last book of this trilogy, and while I enjoyed the first book and quite liked the second, this was just such a drag I could not make myself finish it. After reading maybe a third of it, I was so bored I ended up just looking up for spoilers and DNF-ing. I will definitely read Robin Hobb again, just not this trilogy!

Higher Ground by Anke Stelling (4 stars)

I’ve owned this eARC for a while so I was quite glad to get to it. This tells the story of a writer who publishes a book about being poor and hiding it from your children, having rich friends, her struggles and grievances – except her friends read this book, take offense and evict her from the apartment she and her family rent. This is translated from the German and it was such an interesting story about class, poverty, cultural expectations and so on. Such a good, thoughtful read with great writing, flawless translation, and just in time, too, to recommend it for Women in Translation month!

Dial A for Aunties by Jesse Q. Sutanto (5 stars)

Oh my gosh I LOVED this! It tells the story of Meddy, who goes on a blind date and accidentally murders her date (yes, really). Her mom, once she learns about this, immediately calls Meddy’s aunties, who all hilariously help her hide the body and get rid of it. This had strong rom-com vibes, it was hilarious, adorable, romantic and the most fun I’ve read reading a book in a WHILE.

A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine (currently reading)

I picked this up in audiobook and it’s blowing my mind! I’m a bit over 15% through so it’s too early to tell but I love it so far. It’s mysterious, snarky and I’m really enjoying the writing!

The Poisoned Crown by Maurice Druon (currently reading)

This is the third book of the Accursed Kings series and it’s a short and entertaining read so far! I’m about 50 pages in so I expect I’ll be reading this until the middle or end of next week.

What did you read this week?

One thought on “Weekly Wrap Up 20 – 26 July

Leave a comment